Law Office of Jordan Sluder
Serving The Nashville Metro Area
615-988-1810
Areas & Topics

Nashville Tennessee Criminal Defense Blog

Holiday DUI: Tennessee police are on heightened alert

The year-end holiday season (from Thanksgiving through New Year’s Eve) is full of family, friends, fun and food. We celebrate with our loved ones, opening gifts, eating too much, enjoying football games and going to parties and gatherings. It might not occur to us, however, is the increased rates of drinking and driving that happen this time of year. The holiday season is a peak travel time, and some people “hit the bottle” before the hit the road.

Statistics gathered by SCRAM, a leading manufacturer of alcohol monitoring tech like bracelets and portable testing devices, show that between Thanksgiving and New Year’s Day:

  • There are 25,000 injury-causing DUI car accidents across the country
  • More than 1,200 people lose their lives in alcohol-related crashes (a rate of 2.5 times higher than at other times of the year)

DUI school: is alcohol education mandatory in Tennessee?

Tennessee has strict DUI penalties including a minimum of 48 hours of jail time, minimum 1 year license suspension and an expensive fine. DUI school is not required for all people charged with a DUI. However, in certain circumstances, alcohol education classes are mandatory.

Schools provide attendees with a minimum of 12 hours of assessment and education covering alcohol and motor vehicle use. Completing DUI school can also help non-mandated attendees reinstate their suspended license. When is DUI school required?

What are the penalties for marijuana possession in Tennessee?

Marijuana legalization may be sweeping the country, but it’s still illegal in Tennessee. Getting caught with any amount of pot can lead to a criminal record, though a new law makes it less likely that multiple charges of possessing a small amount of marijuana will lead to a felony conviction.

It’s important to know the potential consequences before taking the risk of getting caught with marijuana. If you are charged with possessing any amount of marijuana under half an ounce, you may:

Contact

Law Office of Jordan Sluder
1994 Gallatin Pike N.
Suite 100
Madison, TN 37115

Madison Law Office Map