Tennessee has strict DUI penalties including a minimum of 48 hours of jail time, minimum 1 year license suspension and an expensive fine. DUI school is not required for all people charged with a DUI. However, in certain circumstances, alcohol education classes are mandatory.
Schools provide attendees with a minimum of 12 hours of assessment and education covering alcohol and motor vehicle use. Completing DUI school can also help non-mandated attendees reinstate their suspended license. When is DUI school required?
How does the court decide who must attend DUI school?
Drivers convicted of driving under the influence undergo an alcohol assessment to determine their pattern of alcohol use and to evaluate the possibility of alcohol dependency. If there are any areas of concern, the state of Tennessee, DUI criminal courts or the DMV can order mandatory DUI education.
The court also takes into account the circumstances surrounding the charge. They look into past DUI charges, BAC levels and injuries or death that resulted from the alcohol use.
What kinds of behaviors could cause the court concern?
The court is more likely to recommend alcohol education classes for individuals that had a high BAC at the time of arrest, or exhibit signs of alcohol dependence and abuse. Some common signs of alcohol dependence include:
- Frequent drinking
- Drinking alcohol in large quantities
- Feeling unable to control drinking habits
- Hiding drinking habits from friends or family members
- Hindered ability to work
- Withdrawal from friends, loved ones and activities
- Increased feelings of anxiety or depression
- Withdrawal symptoms when not drinking
If the court decides that you exhibit signs of alcohol dependence, they may also order rehabilitation to get you back on the right path. If you are charged with a DUI, contact an attorney who can evaluate the facts of your case and help support your best interests.